The Virtues

Avalon is Founded upon the Chivalric Virtues below. Although it may be impossible to truly master them all, it is the pursuit of these High Ideals that makes one noble.

Iron Virtues:

Courage – Strength – Defense – Discipline – Prowess – Fortitude – Temperance – Flexibility

Heart Virtues

Compassion – Freedom – Faith – Mercy – Courtesy – Generosity – Humility – Hope

Noble Virtues

Nobility – Truth – Honor – Honesty – Loyalty – Service – Justice – Sacrifice

Courage –
mental or moral strength to venture, persevere and withstand danger, fear or difficulty.

Courage is the First Virtue of the Order, without it there would be no Champions, no Virtues and no Order. Courage to begin the journey and see it through is one of the greatest virtues of the Knight. Courage enables the existence and flowering of other virtues, without it other virtues are hollow ideals.

Compassion –
symapthetic consciousness of others distress together with a desire to alleviate it.

Truth –
the property of being in accord with fact or reality

Look beyond the surface to discover the reality of events and situations before acting. Truth is often an altered perception based on limited information or twisted by emotion or desires. The Knight must attempt to discern the actual truth of a situation to have a solid basis for taking action or making decisions.

Honor –
good name or public esteem a showing of usually merited respect one whose worth brings respect or fame.

Honor represents a method of measuring ones personal self respect in being true to ones principles. While actions can be said to be honorable or dishonorable from an outside perspective, the true weight of Honor is in the measuring of ones self and ones actions to see if they are congruent with what is right.

Honesty –
a. fairness and straightforwardness of conduct. b. adherence to the facts.

A Knight should be plain spoken and straightforward in speech and action. Deception and subterfuge should not be part of a Knights daily life. Sincerity in actions and words with others, and yourself, opens the doors to greater understanding and respect.

Loyalty –
the quality or state or an instance of being loyal unswerving in allegiance.

The Knight must have an unwavering commitment to the Order and to the people and ideals he or she has chosen to give Fealty to.

Defense –
means or method of defending or protecting oneself, one’s team, or another.

It is the duty of the Knight to protect and defend others from wrongful persecution or harm. It is also the role of the Knight to protect the Order and to safeguard its members, ideals, and missions.

Training that corrects, molds, or perfects the mental faculties or moral character.

Strength –
the quality or state of being strong.

The Knights are Pillars of the Order and the Champions of the Quest, as such they must nurture great physical, mental and spiritual strength to endure adversity and face any trial.

Nobility –
the quality or state of being noble in character, quality or rank.

Nobility to the Knight means acting in a manner deserving of honor and respect. One should live in a way that embodies the ideals and teachings of the Order to empower ones self and serve as an inspiration to others.

Service –
contribution to the welfare of others.

It is through serving the Order, its ideals, and others that the Knight effects positive change in the world. The origins of the word knight come from terms that meant servant. It is through our labors that the Quest is fulfilled.

Faith –
something that is believed, especially with strong conviction.

Members of the Order must find Faith and Belief in the ideals of the Order, its Missions, each other and in themselves. There will be times when Faith may be all that keeps the Quest alive during dark times.

Justice –
the quality of being just, impartial, or fair.

The Knight should strive to be just and fair in all dealings, to try and separate emotional response from situations and react objectively. Justice to the Knight means trying to do what is right at all times.

Mercy –
compassionate treatment of those in distress.

Service rendered by the Order and its Members can be in times of crisis to help those who have suffered much. It is in these times that special care must be shown to help others make it through. Also show restraint, when possible, in the punishment and discipline of others.

Prowess –
extraordinary ability.

Prowess is the the pursuit of exceptional ability, skills and knowledge of the Knight. One must always seek to improve, knowing that greater skill, ability and knowledge comes with practice.

to persist in a state, enterprise or undertaking in spite of counter influences, opposition or discouragement.

Any great undertaking will be beset by forces which will seek to stop its progress. While the Order and its members will seek to do good things, there will be those who will seek to discourage or thwart these efforts and a Knight must be able to push beyond this and endure.

characterized by a ready capability to adapt to new, different, or changing requirements

Temperance –
Moderation in action, thought, or feeling moderation in the indulgence of the appetites or passions.

Courtesy –
Marked by respect for and consideration of others.

Generosity –
To give freely of ones self, ones time or ones possessions to aid another.

Freedom –
Liberation from slavery or restraint or from the power of another.

Sacrifice –
something given up or lost.

There are times when we will be asked to give more of ourselves than we would like in order to continue our work and make changes happen. The ability of the Knight, at times, to give above and beyond what others would is what truly sets the Order apart from other Organizations. Sacrifice is not a goal, but at times a necessity, and should never be taken or entered into lightly.

Humility –
Not proud or haughty: not arrogant or assertive.

Comments are closed